Monday, January 24, 2011

Ragnarok 105 Promo 2011

ROK Promo

Thanks to Marcus Warrington (Larry's son) the future of SPH cycling, we have a promo video.

Also, there has been a local gravel ride that takes place every Sunday put on by a local rider. If your interested email me and I can get you details.

Sunday, January 16, 2011

Some rules to put in your head

If you've signed up for this thing you probably pretty much know what is going on, but here are some more specific rules:

0) You are responsible for yourself!

1) Follow the rules and laws of the road. You will be traveling on public roads that will not be closed in any way. If you see a stop sign, please stop, etc. etc. etc.

2) Wear a helmet while on course.

3) There will be one official checkpoint in the race this year. At Zumbro Falls we will have a checkpoint. At this point, and at only this point you can get outside assistance/help. There also are a couple of convenience stores to pick up water/chips/etc. Unfortunately the roller dogs are in short supply, so if you want a crappy hot dog you might just want to throw one in your jersey pocket. The course will pass a couple stores , but will only pass a couple really useful stores. So, have enough water and food!

4) Carry enough water and food!

5) You are responsible for yourself!

6) Ride within yourself. Watch your speed if you need to on the downhills. There are some long and very very fast descents. It's fun to bomb them, but be prepared to deal with loose gravel, washboard, oncoming tractors etc. Also, when you are climbing up a hill, it's probably smart to not be on the left side of the road. There isn't much traffic on these roads, but be smart.

7) You must have a computer or some means of tracking your progress (in miles).

8) Have some sort of small (or large) front and rear (red) lights. It doesn't have to be so you can see, but you want to be seen.

9) You are responsible for yourself!

10) Don't litter. Respect that we're riding on public roads.

11) Watch out for dogs, chickens, and livestock!

12) Have fun!!!

We will be starting at Colvill Park in Red Wing, MN. You will get the cue sheets for the first half of the race at registration. We will publish the cut-off times to get to the checkpoint in Zumbro Falls (where you get your second half cue sheets)and to finish.

I think I got most of the big ones. Please feel free to ask any questions as we get closer to the race...

Thursday, January 13, 2011


Here the list of riders I need email addresses from. Email me at jakedothuotathotmaildotcom

David Cizmas
Ray Nickles
Paul Marietta
John Struchynski

Reminder: if you need out please let us know asap! There are plenty of people that would love to race. If you choose not to show up on race day without a good explanation I will make your life miserable!

I will post rules and all the blahh you need to know before you show up soonish.

Sunday, January 2, 2011

Lotto Time

The following riders have been selected (randomly) from the stack of 183 postcards. If you see your name on the list congrats! You now have a winter of training in front of you. You also must notify us (Jake) by 11:59 PM on April 6th if you cannot make it to the race. There are 78 people who would love to be racing, so if you can't make it. Please don't take a spot needlessly. Thanks.

For those not on the big list, we have pulled your cards randomly to set the "reserve" list. As people drop out, you will be notified in the order that your card was pulled and you'll then be in. We'll post the top twenty, and as that starts to dwindle we will update said list.

2011 Ragnarok 105 Starting List

Alan Oscarson
Andrew Petersen
Andy Lambert
Andy Tetmeyer
Bill Franken
Bill Nelson
Bob Shepard
Bobby Brown
Brad and Kelly Skillicorn
Brad Cole
Brandon Parr
Brandt Elson
Brent Bruessel
Brian Dukek
Bruce Pletka
Chad Millner
Chad Sova
Charlie Farrow
Charly Tri
Chelsea Strate
Chris Larkin
Chris VanErt
Craig Irving
Dan Dittmer
Dan Hansen
Dan Steeves
Dave Asp
Dave Tyler
David Bruning
David Cizmas
David Meyer and Julia Peek
David Pramann
Derek Carlson
Donald MacNaughton
Eddie Karow
Eric 'The Red'
Evan Tweed
Gerald Hansen
Grant Braasch
Harlan Smith
Heath Weisbrod
Hunter Sheldon
Hurl Everstone
Ian Nancekivell
Jack Donovan
James Bialas
James Foley
Jason Buffington
Jay Pitts
Jeff Austin-Phillips
Jeff Zipfel
Jere Mohr
Jeremiah Jazdzewski
Jeremy Kershaw
Jerry Bilek
Jim Palmer
Joe Meiser
Joel Nichols
John Pike
John Struchynski
Jon Loye
Josh Peterson
Joshua Schneider
Justin Coyne
Keith Peterson
Kelly MacWilliams
Larry Marx
Larry Sauber
Leah Gruhn
Lee Nesbitt
Lonie Sauber
Luck Francl
Mara Larson
Mark Benishek
Mark Emery
Mark VanderWoude
Martin Rudnick
Matt Johnson
Matt Riley
Mick Carlson
Mike Larson
Neil Cary
Paul and Janna Krawczyk
Paul Marietta
Pete Bell
Pete Taylor
Phil Dech
Porter Million
Ray Nickles
Rich Hendricks
Rick Cleary
Robbie Morford
Robert Held
Roy Vosberg
Scott Erickson
Scott Kinderman
Scott Meulebroeck
Steven Wenzel
TC Worley
Ted Clausen
Tiffany Foley
Tim Ek
Tim Norrie
Tim Stark
Troy Lawrence

Alternate Top Twenty (in order)

Jon Kern
Randy Anderson
Jason Vinar
Brandon Manske
Ross Hargrove
Chris Oswald
Brett Swenson
Nick Oswald
Matt Muraski
Todd Sample
Mark Kowaliw
Rick Kompelien
Ed Boltz
Chewy Tottenhall